skip to Main Content

Register to Become a Member Today

Forums Forums General Hysterectomy Returning to Work after Hysterectomy Despairing at 8 weeks post op

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Clairey
    Participant

Dear all, I am a 58 year old lecturer, had a vaginal hysterectomy 8 weeks ago and was recovering quite well, slowly but surely increasing activity. At 6 weeks felt I was about 80% better (though lots of pressure that you should be fine by then from various leaflets). I overdid it (helping with son’s dissertation and job applications) and tried to act like I was fully better. I was SO wrong. Basically I have been floored since, almost unable to to anything and feeling very low. Has anyone else had these peaks and troughs? I am due to go back to work at 12 weeks to an incredibly demanding job and am worried 8 won’t be fit 🙁.

Feeling fab
    Participant

Think it is normal to dip a bit occassionally.
    I got very tired and lethargic at 5 weeks and had to start taking iron again, which definitely helped.
    Might be an idea to see the GP to reassure you everything is ok

I always go back to basics when my energy seems to go, so I drink lots of water which seems to reduce swelling everywhere, fingers ankles, stomach. I go for walks out in the fresh air, eat some healthy fruit and salads, try to rest lying down, and do some pelvic floor/ abdominal exercises.
    I also try reducing caffeine as I find this can make me feel more tired and headachy.

4 weeks is still quite a long time before you are due back at work, so you could feel much better by then.
    You can only take the recovery one day at a time, and everyone is so different! The demanding job will have to wait if you are not ready x
    (I know – easier said than done! )

Clairey
    Participant