fibroid newbie

Forums Forums Gynaecological Conditions Fibroids fibroid newbie

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of
    Anonymous

Hi all

I’m new to this, so I’m not sure if I’m posting in the right place.

I’m 48 and have 3 children – two by c-section. I have been diagnosed with (Floyd – Yes I named it) the fibroid (26 weeks gestation) back in February this year, only because I had severe pain in my back, across my right hip and down the side of my right leg, I couldn’t stop being sick either? Apart from heavy periods for 4+ years and feeling very tired, which last year my GP put down to my age (how wrong was he) – I feel I have been very lucky and not suffered like a lot of women have.

I saw the gynaecologist in March who gave me two options – shrink it with Esmya or a hysterectomy. He advised due to the size of my fibroid even after taking Esmya (four courses) the fibroid would still be quite big and I would probably be looking at a hysterectomy anyway. I decided to have the hysterectomy as I am really uncomfortable and as from February the fibroid has been causing a lot of bladder/kidney issues. I have taken the Esmya for 3 months now, as advised, the only thing that seems to have shrunk is me – I have lost a stone since February due to kidney infections, my stomach still feels as big as ever. I have decided to keep my ovaries and cervix, as I see no reason to remove them as they are healthy and I have no family history of cancer – my gynaecologist has left this for me to decide but has advised the risks of leaving them there, I just think no more risk than if I wasn’t having this operation. I most likely will have a vertical incision due to the fibroid size and maybe because of the c-sections? My operation is booked for 10 July this year, I had my pre op assessment 9 June.